Book Review: The Breath of God

Author: Guy Adams
Read:  January 2016
Number of pages: 245
Format: Paperback
Published: September 2011
ISBN: 0857682822
Publisher: Titan Books
Rating: 3 star.jpg

“Sherlock Holmes: The Breath of God plays out its mystery with an intriguing action aspect, spurred onward with fusion of supernatural and weird fiction. It’s an intelligently written book.” – SPOOKY READS

Image 57

As a person that loves Doyle’s classic style and the baton between Holmes and Watson I am always on the look out for authors taking on the challenge. I got this book in a lot of 6 books from ebay which I recommend. I will be reading them in published date order and I know Titan are bringing out more this year to keep the collection growing.

Synopsis: A body is found crushed to death in the London snow with no footprints anywhere near it. It is almost as if the man was killed by air itself. Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson travel to Scotland to meet with the one person they had been told can help: Aleister Crowley. As dark powers encircles them, Holme;s rationalist beliefs behind the be questioned. The unbelievable and unholy are on their trail as they gather together the most accomplished occult minds in the country: Dr John Silence, the so called ‘Physic Doctor’; supernatural investigator Thomas Carnacki; runic expert and demonologist, Julian Karswell… But will they be enough? AS the century draws to a close it seems London is ready to fall and the infernal abyss is growing wide enough to swallow us all.

Review: The opening of this book really captures the imagination and I can not fault it. However, though the read I was growing increasingly disappointed and I felt the story fell flat. I think, like Sherlock Holmes, have an issue with the super natural element because like Holmes, I know logic and science should be behind the mystery. I found some spiritual things hard to believe or a bit to crazy to believe were real. Guy Adam’s imagination and writing did keep me reading but even Holmes takes a back seat and says, “When you have eliminated the impossibles, whatever remains, maybe the truth “. The three new characters we are introduce to work well together but I missed Holmes present and the chapters were told from different perspectives which helped try to explain what was going on. The supernatural attacks are described well and are terrifying however, I still don’t feel satisfied I actually know what the breath of god was or maybe I was dissapppintment when it was just gas.

I feel very neutral about this book. It reminds me of Doyle’s, ‘Hound of the Baskervilles’ so maybe I felt I have read this type of thing before by the man himself. The villain, Julian Karswell reminded me of the Joker from Batman with his hallucinations gas and I enjoyed the descriptions of what characters saw when effected. I am glad I read it as its a different take but maybe the supernatural topic is not my thing. It took a long time for the book to reveal it was gas and it turned very chaotic and over the top at the end.

Can’t take the Holmes logic out of the girl.

If you wish to have a read yourself and see what you think click here.

Leave a Reply

